Isaiah 43:10 and the Full Deity of Jesus

You are my witnesses,” declares the Lord,

“and my servant whom I have chosen,

that you may know and believe me

and understand that I am he.

Before me no god was formed,

nor shall there be any after me.

(Isaiah 43:10, ESV)

The above citation of Isaiah 43:10 is where the Jehovah’s Witnesses get their name. It also happens to be one of the greatest text in proving the full deity of the Lord Jesus Christ. Isaiah 43:10 is a clear statement of Monotheism and within this amazing text, Isaiah, as inspired by the Holy Spirit, uses the Tetragrammaton to describe the one true God, YHWH. Within this text, the Lord declares that, “I am he. Before me no god was formed, nor shall there be any after me.” “I am he…” These are the very same words that the Lord Jesus declares of Himself in John 13:19. Notice the exact parallels below between the ESV and the NETS and the NA 27 and the LXX. The very same Greek words are used to describe both YHWH in Isaiah 43 and Jesus in John 13. In short, Jesus is applying the very words of deity to Himself, as found in the Old Testament witness of Isaiah. This is yet another line of evidence that proves that Jesus is YHWH, very God of very God.

γένεσθέ μοι μάρτυρες, κἀγὼ μάρτυς, λέγει κύριος ὁ θεός, καὶ ὁ παῖς, ὃν ἐξελεξάμην, ἵνα γνῶτε καὶ πιστεύσητε καὶ συνῆτε ὅτι ἐγώ εἰμι, ἔμπροσθέν μου οὐκ ἐγένετο ἄλλος θεὸς καὶ μετ᾽ ἐμὲ οὐκ ἔσται· (Isa. 43:10, LXX)

Be my witnesses; I too am a witness, says the Lord God, and the servant whom I have chosen so that you may know and believe and understand that I am. Before me there was no other god, nor shall there be any after me. (Isa. 43:10, New English Translation of the Septuagint)

I am telling you this now, before it takes place, that when it does take place you may believe that I am he. (John 13:19, ESV)

ἀπ᾽ ἄρτι λέγω ὑμῖν πρὸ τοῦ γενέσθαι, ἵνα πιστεύσητε ὅταν γένηται ὅτι ἐγώ εἰμι. (John 13:19, NA 27)

