Did You Really Just Say What I Think You Said?

While I was having a conversation with two Jehovah’s Witnesses today, a husband and wife team, the husband began to lecture me on my need to learn from the 144,000 and the Watch Tower Society. His point was, a person must go to those who have gained special insight because Jehovah is using the Society for the spread of the “good news” and to educate His people. He then stated to the best of my recollection the following; “Without proper instruction as to what the Bible teaches, a person might walk away with the impression [after reading it] that it is speaking about Jesus being God or a Trinity.” I was in shock at this admission. To which I responded; “You just proved my point, because, the Bible does teach that Jesus is fully Divine and Jehovah God.”

I have never in all of my life seen such a blatant example of someone being blinded by their traditions. This man fully realized that the New Testament does in fact refer to Jesus as YHWH (Jn. 8:58, Heb. 1:10-12, Phil. 2:9-11; we went over the correspondence between Ps. 102:25-27 and Heb. 1:10-12 today where Jesus is clearly identified as YHWH), but (as he clearly stated throughout the course of our discussion), it just simply cannot be true because the “Society” proclaims that it’s not true. I do indeed pray that our gracious God will water the seeds planted today, to His glory.

