VATICAN II THEOLOGY IN REFLECTION OF TRENT’S COUNTER-REFORMATION

Posted below in PDF format is a paper I wrote in my final class of seminary. In this study, I looked at some of the continuities and discontinuities of Roman Catholic theology. Specifically, I analyzed certain aspects of the Council of Trent and compared its teachings with the later proclamations of Vatican II. Near the end I provide a reformed response to these issues which I believe reflects the spirit of the Reformers, but most importantly, the Lord and the authors of sacred Scripture. On this point, it is vital to note that these comments do not reflect the individuals within the Roman Catholic Church, but rather, the Romanist system which places its members on an endless treadmill of of works. I have great sorrow that there are true Christians within the Roman Church; true Christians which are subjected to a system of works righteousness that in no way reflects the simplicity of Christ and the salvation that is gained only through His blood. I hope that this study helps to educate those on this side of the Tiber River regarding the massive theological tension that remains to this day with those in Rome…especially in our ever changing culture which tends to downplay religious distinctions as items of non-importance.

VATICAN II THEOLOGY IN REFLECTION OF TRENT’S COUNTER-REFORMATION: CONTEMPORARY ROMAN CATHOLICISM

