May 22 Reflections on Harold Camping

As I reflect back upon the days which led up to Harold Camping’s prophetic announcement and the day of the “day of judgment” itself, I can’t help but to feel sorry for Camping and his followers. Granted, we must all take personal responsibility for our actions. However, I fully know that if it were not for the grace of God and His election, which has worked its way out in my life, that could have been me. What is left in the aftermath of this failed end times announcement is nothing less than sheer heart-break and ruined lives and this, any and all who name the name of Christ should pity. Maybe it’s simply the Calvinistic side of me that’s rearing its head on this issue, but, even so, I must ask, what makes “us” different?

Why do we believe the true Gospel and others do not? Are we better than they? Are we smarter? More deserving? More spiritual? On this issue, the resounding answer is, NO. The only thing that sets us apart from those in the world who do not believe the true message of the Gospel of Jesus Christ is a five letter word called G-R-A-C-E. Noting this, I do hope that you’ll join with me in prayer for Camping and his followers. And on this issue, perhaps it is said best by the words of the “Prince of Preachers” himself, Charles Spurgeon, when he proclaimed;

One week-night, when I was sitting in the house of God, I was not thinking much about the preacher’s sermon, for I did not believe it. The thought struck me, “How did you become a Christian?” I sought the Lord. “But how did you come to seek the Lord?” The thought flashed across my mind in a moment – I should not have sought him unless there had been some previous influence in my mind to make me seek Him. I prayed, I thought, but then I asked myself, How came I to pray? I was induced to pray by reading the Scriptures. How came I to read the Scriptures? I did read them, but what led me to do so? Then, in a moment, I saw that God was at the bottom of it all. And that he was the Author of my faith, and so the whole doctrine of grace opened up to me, and from that doctrine I have not departed to this day, and I desire to make this my constant confession, “I ascribe my change wholly to God.” – Charles Spurgeon, in his Autobiography

Visit the Applied-Apologetics Homepage By Clicking Here.

Leave a Reply

